|    Join     |    Donate    |   Store    |   About NAMS
Facebook TwitterYouTubeLinkedinRSS

Award & Scholarship Recipients

The North American Menopause Society (NAMS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Society's 2019 awards. Recipients will be acknowledged during the NAMS 30th Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois, September 25-28, 2019.

Recognition Awards

Soares, C 
NAMS/Thomas B Clarkson Outstanding Clinical and Basic Science Research Award
This award recognizes a NAMS member’s outstanding menopause-related clinical or basic science research.
Claudio N Soares, MD, PhD, FRCPC, MBA
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Shen Wen 
NAMS/Leon Speroff Outstanding Educator Award
This award recognizes a NAMS member’s excellence in menopause-related education of clinicians or the general public.

Wen Shen, MD, MPH
Baltimore, MD

Kurtzer, T 
NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) of the Year
This award recognizes one current NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) for outstanding work to his/her patients.

Traci A Kurtzer, MD, NCMP
Chicago, IL

Streicher-2019 Award 
NAMS Media Award
This award recognizes a media professional whose body of work, through any consumer media outlet (ie, print, television, radio, Internet), has served to expand the knowledge and understanding of menopause.

Lauren F Streicher, MD, NCMP
Chicago, IL

Crandall, C-2019 Award

NAMS/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Best Paper of the Year Award
This award recognizes the best paper published in Menopause in 2018. The recipient is selected by the Editor-in-Chief of the journal.

Carolyn J Crandall, MD, MS, NCMP
Los Angeles, CA

Breast cancer, endometrial cancer, and cardiovascular events in participants who used vaginal estrogen in the Women’s Health Initiative Observational Study.
Menopause. 2018;25(1):11-20.

Thomas, H

NAMS/Fernand Labrie Vaginal and Sexual Health Award

Funded by Amag Pharmaceuticals, this award provides an annual scholarship in memory of Dr. Fernand Labrie, a researcher, innovator, and pioneer in the field of women’s health and menopause. The award recognizes one junior investigator’s research in the areas of developing and understanding women’s vaginal microbiomes, including therapies to improve vaginal and sexual health.        

Holly N Thomas, MD, MS
Pittsburgh, PA

Endowment Scholarship

Picon, M 
The NAMS/Irwin J. Kerber Scholarship Endowment, provided through a generous endowment to the Society in 2011provides one medical resident working in women’s health with a NAMS membership and complimentary Annual Meeting attendance.

Michelle M Picon, MD, MPH
Atlanta, GA

New Investigator Awards

These awards recognize the outstanding abstract submissions of three investigators who have achieved their degree within the past 7 years.

Cortes, Y
Yamnia I 
Chapel Hill, NC

Jaff, N
Nicole G Jaff,

South Africa

Smith, T
Taryn M Smith,

Cleveland, OH

Trainee Travel Awards


Humphries. L

NAMS/International Menopause Society (IMS) Trainee Travel Award

This award provides one trainee with travel funds to attend the 2019 NAMS Annual Meeting.

Leigh Ann Humphries, MD
Philadelphia, PA

NAMS Annual Meeting Trainee Travel Awards

These awards are funded by generous donations from the NAMS membership during 2018. One medical resident and one DNP-In-Training were selected on the basis of their focus on midlife women’s health issues. They will each receive travel funds to attend the 2019 NAMS Annual Meeting.

Butzer, E
Emma J Butzer,
Minneapolis, MN

Chaikof M
Michael Chaikof,
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

2019 NAMS Awards Committee

Mary Jane Minkin, MD, FACOG, NCMP—Chair
Risa Kagan, MD, FACOG, CCD, NCMP
Linda Kelly, DNP, ANP-BC, NCMP
Jean M Marino, APRN-CNP, MSN, NCMP, IF
Barbara A Soltes, MD, NCMP
Ann L Steiner, MD, FACOG, NCMP


Copyright© 2022 |  Home  |  Privacy Policy  |   Site Map |


30050 Chagrin Blvd, Suite 120W - Pepper Pike, OH 44124, USA
Telephone: 440/442-7550 - Fax: 440/442-2660  - Email: info@menopause.org
Email a Friend
Please enter a valid email address.
255 character limit
Your friend will receive an e-mail invitation to view this page, but we will not store or share this e-mail address with outside parties.

To submit the email please enter the sum of 7 + 8.