|    Join     |    Donate    |   Store    |   About NAMS

Award & Scholarship Nominations

The North American Menopause Society (NAMS) is pleased to announce the availability of 36 awards and scholarships this year. Recipients will be acknowledged during the NAMS 2014 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, on October 15-18. We are counting on you to identify deserving candidates for the 2014 NAMS Awards!

Please review the available awards and eligibility criteria below then complete the online Nomination Form below.

The 2014 Call for Award Nominations is now closed.

Winners will be notified by July 9, 2014.


NAMS Recognition Awards

 These recognition awards provide the recipients with the following:

  • Complimentary registration to the 2014 NAMS Annual Meeting
  • Commemorative display plaque
  • Invitation to a private reception with the NAMS Board of Trustees and members of the 2014 Awards Committee on Friday, October 17, from 5:45 PM—6:45 PM  

1. NAMS/Thomas Clarkson Outstanding Clinical & Basic Science Research Award

This award will recognize a NAMS member’s outstanding menopause-related clinical or basic science research.

Past recipients:
James H. Pickar, MD, FACOG (2013)
Frederick Naftolin, DPhil, MD (2012)
Nancy Fugate Woods, PhD, RN, FAAN (2011)
Howard N. Hodis, MD (2010)

2. NAMS/Leon Speroff Outstanding Educator Award

This award will recognize a NAMS member’s excellence in menopause-related education of clinicians or the general public.

Past recipients:
William A. Hohman, MD, FACOG, NCMP (2013)
Cynthia A. Stuenkel, MD, NCMP (2012)
James A. Simon, MD, CCD, NCMP, FACOG (2011)
Marcie K. Richardson, MD (2010)

3. NAMS/Ann Voda Community Service Award

This award will recognize a healthcare provider within the NAMS membership who has demonstrated outstanding community service.

Past recipients:
Susan G. Murrmann, MD (2013)
Joann H. Kersh, MD (2012)
Elaine E. Jolly, OC, MD, FRCS(C) (2011)
Peter F. Schnatz, DO, FACOG, FACP, NCMP (2010)

4. NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) of the Year

This award will recognize one current NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) for outstanding work with his/her patients. Both members and nonmembers of the Society who hold the NCMP credential are eligible for consideration.

Past recipients:
Barbara J. DePree, MD, NCMP (2013)
Terry M. Gibbs, DO, NCMP (2012)
Lisa A. Chism, DNP, APRN, NCMP, FAANP (2011)
Julia F. Edelman, MD, NCMP (2010)
Wendy L. Wolfman, MD, NCMP (2009)
Sally J. Payette, RN, CME, NCMP (2008)

5. NAMS Media Award

This award will recognize a media professional whose body of work, through any media outlet (ie, print, television, radio, Internet) has served to expand the knowledge and understanding of menopause.

Past recipients:
Machelle M. Seibel, MD—Health Rock®, My Menopause Magazine (2013)
Ms. Tanya Rivero—ABC News (2011)
Ms. Katie Kalvaitis—Endocrine Today (2010)
Ms. Carolyn R. Schatz—Harvard Women’s Health Watch (2009)
Mr. Sean Swint—WebMD (2008)
Ms. Peggy Northrop—MORE Magazine (2007)
Mr. Martin Franks and Mr. Matthew Margo—CBS Cares (2006)
Marla Shapiro, MDCM, CCFP, MHSc—Canada AM, Toronto Globe & Mail (2005)
Ms. Tara Parker-Pope—The Wall Street Journal (2004)
Ms. Sally Squires—The Washington Post (2003)
Toby Hanlon, EdD—Prevention (2002) 

Endowment Membership Scholarship

The NAMS/Irwin J. Kerber Membership Scholarship Endowment, provided through a generous endowment to the Society in 2011provides one medical resident working in women’s health with a NAMS membership. The resident must be a non-member of the Society. A letter of recommendation from the candidate’s Program Director is required for all nominations.
Past recipient:
Chelsi M. Jackson, MD (2013)
Myda Thi Luu, MD (2012)

Medical Residents, Fellows & Doctors of Nursing Practice (In Training) Reporter Scholarships

This program, supported by a grant from Pfizer, will provide 30 medical residents, fellows, and doctors of nursing practice (in training) from an accredited program in any specialty involving women’s health. Recipients are required to prepare a presentation on a topic of their choice, from the content of the meeting, to share with colleagues in their home program. Only nonmembers of the Society are eligible. A letter from the Program Director is required with all nominations. A signed commitment to attend the entire meeting and two special educational sessions are required.

These reporter scholarships provide the winners with the following: 

  • Reimbursement of travel expenses up to $1,800 to attend the 2014 NAMS Annual Meeting (NAMS will waive the registration fee)
  • A copy of NAMS professional textbook, Menopause Practice: A Clinician’s Guide 
  • A copy of NAMS leading consumer resource, Menopause Guidebook
  • Two special educational sessions
  • A certificate of participation at the conclusion of the program  
Copyright© 2014 |  Home  |  Privacy Policy  |   Site Map |
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.

This site complies
with the HONcode
trustworthy health

verify here.

5900 Landerbrook Drive, Suite 390 - Mayfield Heights, OH 44124, USA
Telephone: 440/442-7550 - Fax: 440/442-2660  - Email: info@menopause.org
Email a Friend
Please enter a valid email address.
255 character limit
Your friend will receive an e-mail invitation to view this page, but we will not store or share this e-mail address with outside parties.

To submit the email please enter the sum of 3 + 6.