|    Join     |    Donate    |   Store    |   About NAMS
Facebook TwitterYouTubeLinkedinRSS

Award & Scholarship Recipients

NAMS is pleased to announce the recipients of the Society's 2012 awards and scholarships that recognize outstanding contributions to the field of women's health and menopause. Recipients will be acknowledged during the NAMS Annual Meeting, in Orlando, Florida, on October 3-6, 2012

The Society extends its congratulations to all of this year’s outstanding award recipients.

Poster Prize Winners

The top prize of $1,000 goes to:

Poster #89
“The Kronos Early Estrogen Prevention Study-Cognitive and Affective Sub-study: Menopausal Hormone Therapy Effects on Mood, Quality of Life, and Memory Complaints”
Presented by Dr. Carey Gleason from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

The 3 runners up win $500 each. In no particular order, they are:

Poster #66
“Incident detection of HPV in older women: contributions of recent and past sexual partnerships and implications for HPV vaccination”
Presented by Dr. Anne Rositch from Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore, Maryland 

Poster #72
“Cortical thickness changes in single episode versus multiple episodes of depression in medication-free women during menopause transition”
Presented by Dr. Claudio N. Soares from McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario

Poster #88
“Oral estrogen vs. Transdermal estrogen effects on lipids and lipoproteins in recently menopausal women: the Kronos Early Estrogen Prevention Study”
Presented by Dr. Eliot Brinton from the University of Utah in Salt Lake City, Utah

Recognition Awards


NAMS/Thomas B. Clarkson Outstanding Clinical & Basic Science Research Award
This award recognizes a NAMS member’s outstanding menopause-related clinical or basic science research.

Frederick Naftolin, DPhil, MD
Woodbridge, CT

NAMS/Leon Speroff Outstanding Educator Award
This award recognizes a NAMS member’s excellence in menopause-related education of clinicians or the general public.

Cynthia A. Stuenkel, MD, NCMP
La Jolla, CA

NAMS/Ann Voda Community Service Award
This award recognizes a healthcare provider within the NAMS membership who has demonstrated outstanding community service.

Joann H. Kersh, MD
Monroe, OH

NAMS Menopause Practitioner of the Year
This award recognizes one current NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) for outstanding work to his/her patients.

Terry M. Gibbs, DO, NCMP
Sylvania, OH

NAMS/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Best Paper of the Year Award
The award recognizes the best paper published in Menopause in 2011. The recipient is selected by the Editor-in-Chief of the journal.

Emily D. Szmuilowicz, MD, MS
Chicago, IL

"Vasomotor symptoms and cardiovascular events in postmenopausal women" (Menopause 2011;18:603-610).

Excellence Awards

NAMS/Teva Women’s Health Medical Residents Excellence Awards

This award recognizes a total of ten physicians or fellows who are currently in training in obstetrics and gynecology.


Elizabeth Chertkow, MD, CM
Toronto, Canada

Sanaz Ghazal, MD
Milford, CT

Maliha I. Jumani, MD
Cambridge, MA 

Crystal R. Lee-Billing, MD
Cleveland, OH

Wayne T. Lin, MD, MPH
Brookline, MA

Kristin Magner, MD
Cincinnati, OH

Jessica J. Schneider, MD
Wauwatosa, WI

Rupali K. Singh, MD
Reading, PA

Cara L. Thompson, DO
Greenville, SC

Crystal L. Welch, MD
Atlanta, GA

New Investigator Awards

This award recognizes the outstanding abstract submissions of four investigators who have achieved their degree within the past seven years.

Maria E. Bleil, PhD—San Francisco, CA
Samar R. El Khoudary, PhD, MPH—Pittsburgh, PA
Aimee K. Johnson, MA—Waco, TX
Ran Xie, MD, PhD—West Reading, PA

NAMS/Pfizer Medical Resident & Fellow Reporter Program

Medical Resident & Fellow Reporters

These 30 scholarships were designed to provide medical residents and fellows the opportunity to attend the 2012 NAMS Annual Meeting. The recipients have been asked to prepare a presentation on a topic of their choice from content at the meeting to share with colleagues and other residents and fellows in their program when they return home.

Foluke M. Alli, MD
Cleveland, OH

Juan P. Alvarez, MD
Atlanta, GA

Katherine Apostolakis-
Kyrus, MD
St. Petersburg, FL

Nathalie Bastien-Montpeirous, MD
Keswick, VA

Stacie Braswell, MD
Nashville, TN

Casandra Cashman, MD
Ann Arbor, MI

Mary C. Coll-Black, MD
Hamilton, ON, Canada

Ricardo R. Correa, MD
Coral Gables, FL

Katharine E. Dickson, MD
Chicago, IL

Adam C. ElNaggar, MD
Memphis, TN


Laxmisilpa G. Hansen, MD Memphis, TN

Julia G. Head, MD
Jamaica Plain, MA

Anthony N. Imudia, MD
Boston, MA

Akeira L. Johnson, MD
Milwaukee, WI

Abdullah A. Khafagy, MD
Houston, TX






Hagop Kojanian, MD
Jacksonville, FL

Sarah B. Low, MD
Tyler, TX

Mini A. Mathew, DO, PharmD
Temple, TX

Lynn Ly Ngo, MD
San Diego, CA

Vivian U. Onunkwo, MD
Smyrna, TN

Jessica R. Rubin, MD
Atlanta, GA

Amy K. Schutt, MD
Charlottesville, VA


Meera S. Shah, MD
San Francisco, CA

Katherine Ikard Stewart, MD, MBA
Baltimore, MD

Anna Szafran-Swietlik, MD
Jacksonville, FL

Jenny L. Van Winkle, MD
Houston, TX

Jeffrey H. Walden, MD
Greensboro, NC

Lauren D. Weber, DO, NCMP
Cleveland, OH

Roisin Worsley, MBBS
Camberwell, Australia

Zaixiao Zhang, MD
Columbia, SC

Copyright© 2021 |  Home  |  Privacy Policy  |   Site Map |


30050 Chagrin Blvd, Suite 120W - Pepper Pike, OH 44124, USA
Telephone: 440/442-7550 - Fax: 440/442-2660  - Email: info@menopause.org
Email a Friend
Please enter a valid email address.
255 character limit
Your friend will receive an e-mail invitation to view this page, but we will not store or share this e-mail address with outside parties.

To submit the email please enter the sum of 7 + 9.